PDA

View Full Version : 1959 Willys CJ5

dinger
12-01-2014, 12:29 PM
I've been looking for a forum for all there is to know about Willy's jeeps and it looks like I've found it. Thought I'd introduce myself as I'm new to owning a classic jeep.

My father in law gifted me his 1959 jeep. It's a bit of a Frankenstein vehicle, powered by a 1970 GM V8 four bolt main. The jeep was originally from California, and moved to NJ. It's in need of a new top and some tires, and I've got a leaking radiator and master cylinder that will need attention in short order.

Moving the vehicle from Southern NJ to my home in MD.

Not sure what I'm getting into, or what the right approach to fixing the vehicle up- especially considering that I'm not incredibly mechanically inclined. Plan for now is to go over the brake system and other safety systems to get the jeep on the road and start enjoying the vehicle. From there who knows where we'll go.

Thought I would attach some photos as well.

Any guidance and advise would be greatly appreciated.

60willys
12-01-2014, 06:22 PM
looks in good shape, I just replaced the master and wheel cylinders on my 60 willys. still have to do the drums and shoes but it stops now. thats a plus ;)

dinger
02-17-2015, 10:17 AM