PDA

View Full Version : Oil Pressure Sensor for 6-volt Stewart-Warner Gauges

LarrBeard
07-15-2016, 11:42 AM
I’m an engineer by profession. As a Senior Chief Electronics Technician in the Navy, I ran calibration labs. My retirement hobby is Maples Road Instrument Services, specializing in analog test equipment from the 1970’s and 1980’s. That’s why the gauges in my ’48 Willys have driven me up the wall!

Try as I will, sensors don’t match the gauges. Gauges read bass-ackwards, go to full scale when they should be at a quarter or half. The instrument cluster guy tells me that I’m not alone, the old senders and sensors just aren’t available – it takes an adapter in many cases.

With that in mind, I was pleased as we ended the restoration of Ham’s ’48 truck to see that the oil pressure gauge with the original sensor on the engine was close enough to be credible. A mechanical gauge told us it had about 10 PSI of oil pressure at idle and about 32 PSI at cruise speed. Then came the aw-pooh. One day we started the truck and the oil pressure gauge pinned at way far right – more than 50 PSI. A quick look showed that something, someone, had smacked the sensor on top of the case and smashed it. We figured out Mr. Notme did it.

The replacement sensor wasn’t right. It said 30 PSI at idle and 50+ at cruise, so I added a resistor in series to center it up at cruise, but it was still kind of funky at low speed. It turns out that if you can possibly repair an old sensor, you’ll probably have a better chance of it working properly. As the YF carburetor guru said “Just because its new and shiny doesn’t make it the right part”.

After I'd driven a while, I wondered if I could fix the old sensor. After all, it’s broken; maybe I’ll have better luck with it than I did with the ignition switch. (It was so worn the contacts were just shot…).