PDA

View Full Version : 51 M38 - over my head

Will Johnson
04-21-2019, 07:42 AM
Greetings I am new (I guess 65 isn’t that new) and a want be mechanic - still working so I have limited time and less knowledge

51 M38 - not started in 25 years - wiring shot but the motor turns, the fluids seem good - my first goal is to see if I can get it started

Has 24 volt alternator, starter, generator, voltage regulator - all to be waterproof, someone has changed the distributor and coil to 12 volt - so I got the 24 volt coil and distributor - that come as one unit and installed that along with the water proof plugs and wires ( hopefully got that right - firing order correct - the timing is probably off)
I have gerry rigged power the coil - from the voltage regulator

Still not getting power to the plugs - (as far as I can see)

My next move is to get the voltage regular harness as well as the connection the coil - just in case my connection to the coil is bad

Too much info yet?

I would love any tips -

I am in Chapel Hill NC - and still working - I would also like to conscider finding someone in this area or even in NC that could work on this - sort of get me a jump start - no sure how much that would cost -

Thanks for any info

Have a Blessed Easter!

gmwillys
04-21-2019, 10:20 AM
We have one member on the coast of North Carolina. He is finishing up on his M38A1, and has become an expert in 24 volt distributors.

If nothing else, we can discuss some options to get you up and running. I'm currently starting a two year contract, and will be working 6 or 7 days a week, so time is tight. As a group, we can walk you through this project!

Will Johnson
04-22-2019, 02:45 PM
THANKS!
any tips would be great-
don't work to hard - which is my problem as well

bmorgil
04-22-2019, 04:19 PM
Love your Jeep Will! I am not at all familiar with the 24 volt system. This forum definitely has two Gent's that I have read, that know the 24 volt G.I. system. gmwillys and LarrBeard for sure.