PDA

View Full Version : M-38

Buckweet
04-20-2020, 01:37 PM
Hi there .. I am a newbie but had questions about the m-38 that I finally dragged into the shop. It has been in the family for over 50 years and needs some serious attention . I specifically have questions about the motor as it was replaced in the 70s? I believe with a Buick V6. Not sure where to go with it as it does not run .

bmorgil
04-20-2020, 03:44 PM
Welcome Buckweet, post some pictures of your M38. The direction to take your project, is as wide as your imagination. Take a look at this Jeep with a V6.

Buckweet
04-20-2020, 06:05 PM
Welcome Buckweet, post some pictures of your M38. The direction to take your project, is as wide as your imagination. Take a look at this Jeep with a V6.

I hope this helps. Thanks for the response. Ok I might be a little challenged on adding photos. I do have the tags off of it that helps. Also not the shifting. If I remember correctly it has a high/low and Overdrove.. so not sure if it is the original transmission.. probable not.

Buckweet
04-20-2020, 06:07 PM
Also note* I am not proficient with typing on a phone!!

bmorgil
04-20-2020, 06:37 PM
Oh man that thing is a great looking project! A considerable amount of it is still there and it is good shape. That should be a lot of fun that's for sure.

TJones
04-20-2020, 07:55 PM
Welcome Buckweet...
That’s a fine looking M38 you have to start with!!!!
Let me know if you have any questions, I started with a 52 M38 with a Buick 225 V6 odd fire in it as well about 2.5 years ago.
Don’t mean to discourage ya but I took my good ole time doing it, so if you have any questions don’t be afraid to ask as the other Wise Men say “there is no such thing as a dumb question” on here!!!
Good times are coming your way !!

Buckweet
04-20-2020, 09:18 PM