PDA

View Full Version : Hello From Kansas!

Mike P
10-07-2022, 04:58 PM
Just wanted to pop in and say hello and (try to?) post a picture of my latest project. After lusting after a military jeep since I was a wee lad I finally pulled the trigger on this one a couple months ago and dragged it home from Nebraska. It is a ‘44 GPW body on a ‘45 MB chassis.

Someone at some point put an F head motor in it that is currently stuck. A week after I dragged it home I found some Willys wheels with the old NDT tires on FB marketplace so I had to grab those up! On the way home from that adventure I stopped to look at a pile of MB parts that another guy was selling and went back the next weekend and picked up a Go Devil engine in pieces and a few other bits and bobs.

The project will be a long term one. Fortunately most of the major bits are there and I have already started buying other little bits and pieces like handles and such.

I’m new to these vehicles so I will sit back and try to use the search function and take it all in!

LarrBeard
10-07-2022, 06:03 PM
" It is a ‘44 GPW body on a ‘45 MB chassis."

That could well have been the result of post WW II Depot rebuild. Whatever fit went back onto the frame - kind of like running M1 rifles through Depot Overhaul. Manufacturer's don't matter, just parts.

bmorgil
10-07-2022, 06:09 PM
Welcome Mike! That should be a great project. I like the "operating room".

Mike P
10-07-2022, 07:53 PM
" It is a ‘44 GPW body on a ‘45 MB chassis."

That could well have been the result of post WW II Depot rebuild. Whatever fit went back onto the frame - kind of like running M1 rifles through Depot Overhaul. Manufacturer's don't matter, just parts.

Welcome Mike! That should be a great project. I like the "operating room".