Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Jeepster FEVER

Jeepster FEVER

OMW , I purchased a 1970 Jeepster Commando little over a month ago. My wife asked me to wait until January to start my restoration project ..couldn't wait....I removed the transmission , transfer case , gas tank , wheels , hubs....The FUN has begun so I will be posting pictures and progress but most of all I will need lots of questions answered because I am very new to this....thanks in advance to all that has been thru what I am getting myself into....LOL

I am with you brother learning as I go. Maybe we can share some ideas.

Quote Originally Posted by 1948 Cal Willys Pickup View Post
    I am with you brother learning as I go. Maybe we can share some ideas.
    Sharing ideas would be great....look forward to pictures from your restoration...and I will post pictures of my Jeepster ...just started taking pictures so I will post soon....
    First question though is I removed the gas tank and the gas line due to lots of hose clamps , which seems to be a future problem so should I install a new rubber hose or something else steel , stainless etc..?

I am faced with the same dilemma. The old lines were all metal and the replacement was rubber. I haven't done any research yet but plan on going with rubber lines. They are cheaper, easier to install and could look pretty clean. Like I said though I haven't done the research yet but want to see the benefits of having hard lines if there are any.

O my.....the ball and chain is so mad at me for working on my Jeepster.....transmission and transfer case just Took me so long to redo....it's all back together and reinstalled so one milestone is complete and may have to put the old thing on hold a few weeks.....a least until she calms down....

I'm fortunate mine just lets me do what I do as long as I do what she says. When I am working on the truck she leaves me alone.