Thread: Carburetor issues

Carburetor issues

Hi...so I am new to the jeep family. I have a 1946 CJ2A and rebuilt the carburetor. The jeep will sit and idle just fine....when you try to accelerate it spits and sputters and is undriveable. I don't have the gauge to set metering rod. I have tried to adjust it in different positions and doesn't seen to make a difference. I am at my wits end on what the problem might be. Any advise would be appreciated.

P.S. It is a Carter W-O carburetor.

Big Dean
    Swanton, Ohio

Big Dean, It sounds like the main circuit is plugged. How does it act with some choke? If it stumbles and falls but then begins to go it could be the accelerator pump circuit. Give it a try with a little choke and see how it acts.
    Last edited by bmorgil; 02-26-2020 at 05:48 PM.

With the choke open (engine off) look into the carb and operate the throttle. You should see a small stream of gas squirt into the throat of the carb. If you do the accelerator pump is working. The accelerator pump gives a small squirt of gas to get the vehicle going (from a standstill or while accelerating) until gas from the metering rod catches up with demand.

https://www.kaiserwillys.com/media/w...-Install_1.pdf

Phil
    Last edited by pdudleystl; 02-26-2020 at 07:41 PM.

Accelerator pump sprays gas...tried a little choke and it didn't seem to make a difference. Could it be something other than the carburetor, possibly the fuel pump. Fuel pump glass bowl doesn't fill completely up when running.