Thread: Another Oil Question

Another Oil Question

OK, I’m still learning things about the truck I’ve been driving for all these years.

The F-134 engine holds 4 quarts of oil. Now, I assume (and I know very well what assume does) that if I pour 4-quarts of Valvoline VR-1 10W-30 oil down the fill tube, I will get a “full” reading on the dipstick – the meniscus is about at the top of the checkered area.

But, I have an oil filter on the engine. The standard answer is “4-quarts plus 1 quart for the filter”. After the engine sits for a while, the filter seems to pretty well drain back into the oil pan – there isn’t a lot of carry out when I pull out the old canister.

If I pull the dipstick after things sit a while, should I get a high reading on the stick?

Nope. First, you know you drove it after the top off, just for kicks. So that probably burned some off. Second, some of it poured out on the road. And, third, you probably measured wrong. I know this because an old S-10 I had held 7 quarts but it said it only held five. I know that because the mechanic yelled at me about overfilling. And last, these days it probably evaporates faster given the climate change and acid rain factors.

5JeepsAz just said Senior Chief Larry's freshly rebuilt '48 blows, burns and leaks oil. Oh man... all I can think about is how Larry preaches "Payback".

Well 5JeepsAz is in the penalty box for an unknown time frame... OK that's long enough, he's out now!