Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ham's 48: Keeping Our Cool

Ham's 48: Keeping Our Cool

Rack up another win for Doc Dana!

Keeping our Jeeps cool is always a concern, especially if we drive them in parades where the pace is slow and the temperature on the asphalt gets hot. BMorgil and I both had overheating issues. I had a thermostat stick in Ham’s ’48 and blow half the coolant out all over the engine compartment, past the hood junction and down the sides of the truck. What a mess! Bob’s baby, PeeJ, was having hot flashes during the 2019 Jeep Fest Parade.

In the truck, even after I replaced the thermostat – it always worried me when it warmed up. The temperature sensor is at the back end of the engine – and the thermostat is right up front where it gets all of the cool air as I started down the road. If I made a hot run didn’t let the truck sit and warm up for about 15-minutes, I would watch the temperature gauge crawl upwards. I have a 160-degree thermostat in the truck, and the gauge would run up to well over 185-degrees (on hot days close to 200-degrees) before the thermostat would open and cool things down. There was always that nagging worry; “Has it stuck again?” The other concern was that the cylinder head was a lot hotter at the #4 end than it was up at #1 – was that going to make it warp?