Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1947 CJ2a Digging in...

1947 CJ2a Digging in...

Just purchased my first Jeep. She's a beauty. 1947 CJ2A. From what I was told, the Jeep has been sitting in a barn for 30 years and hasn't been started. I have been doing a lot of work, or should I say, removing old rusty bolts and buying lots of replacement parts Part of the fun right? This weekend I took off the water pump and noticed that there is old crusty antifreeze that needs to be flushed/removed. This now begs the question...what should I do? My gut instinct is to start the engine rebuild process but need some help and guidance. I also took off the head and the cylinders don't look too bad. See the pictures below and let me know your thoughts. I have done a lot of car work, but never rebuilt a car engine, only the little briggs and stratton mower engines. I am a newbie.
    Attached Images Attached Images

An engine is an engine, everything comes apart and goes back together one bolt at a time.

Invest in the Willys shop manual if you haven't already done so.
    Shop around for a good, (trusted) machine shop to check everything over/ true up the block/head.
    Double check all the measurements before ordering the rebuild kit.
    Have a clean place for re-assembly.
    Take your time.
    Take all the time you need to be sure everything is right and proper.
    Patience.

Diggin' in is the first step to a great project LW! The shop manual is the most important purchase. Reading it is the best way to have a good project. The book and the proper tools will go a long way.