Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's going on with my Generator?

What's going on with my Generator?

This is my first time messing around with a generator, so essentially my first rodeo. The regulator is new from KW and the generator was just rebuilt, all 12v.
    It doesn't seem to be charging:
    Volt meter with the engine at about 1000rpms reads 12.2 and gradually sinks to 11.9. I was expecting somewhere around 14. I made sure the polarity was set, momentarily jumping the battery to the armature tab on the regulator (type A generator). I got a spark, a hum and the generator turned for a second the same direction as the engine. I considered this to be a good sign that the generator is in fact good. I noticed right before I turned the engine on that the amp meter which has been stubbornly been at zero was now marking at -50 amps. After I turned the engine on, the amp meter went back to just on the positive side of zero but I was only able to read 12v with the volt meter.

Next I took the lid off of the regulator. Everything there looks good, shiny and new.

I'm not sure what to do next.

My generator experience is pretty limited and I don’t know at what engine RPM these generators need to produce power. I know on applications I am familiar with 1,000 rpm isn’t likely to get the generator generating. Usually 1200-1500 to get them started and they fall off line at 800-1000 but there are variables that can make up the difference. Most notable is the pulley sizes.
    Jeff
    '51 CJ3A
    '47 CJ2A

Ok, so the old timers are probably rolling their eyes about now, "Here we go with the 'My generator isn't charging' conversation again!"