Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Resto-mod 1958 CJ5

Resto-mod 1958 CJ5

I will be acquiring it in October. The body and interior are already custom restored just the way I want it. It runs with what I believe is the original engine. However I want to turn it into a daily driver. My desire is for it to look like a 70s vehicle under the hood but with significant speed and power abilities. No computer.
    What are your thoughts on the engine, tranny, suspension, and possibly exhaust changes? In addition I live nearby a year lace who specializes in these (20 miles?).
    Oh it’s also a manual 4WD.

This is my first build ever so be frank and direct with any criticism.

Welcome Jafopt!

You won't receive much criticism here. The great thing about a Jeep is that there is so many ways to customize your ride, with none being wrong when done well.

What would you like to run for a power plant? You could go with anything from a Kubota or Cummins diesel, a V6 or V8 gas of just about any make for a true 70s vibe with lots of chrome/aluminum accessories, or even a Wankel rotary engine. The options are wide open. With what I read from your post, I will assume that you are looking towards the V6 or V8 route with a classic carb and some classy headers. The next question would be to see what transmission and to see if you are wanting to retain the four wheel drive? With those questions answered, we can roll from there.

Also, please drop in some photos to see what you are working with, and the customizations made.

Like gm said, you can put a lot of different engines in there. You may want to stick with a V6 if you are looking for something that will be easy to fit with plenty of power. Check out TJ's CJ for a nice hot rod street Jeep CJ. The Suspension, Transfer Case, Transmission and Axles will have no problem with whatever you decide to use for an engine.

https://willysjeepforum.kaiserwillys...-Forum/page108