Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Ignition switch removal question

  1. #11
    Super Moderator bmorgil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Northwestern Ohio
    Posts
    3,686
    Well the good news is there are only a few circuits and no computer.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator LarrBeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,513
    Here is a link to at least one version of CJ-3A wiring. I was trying to find version with wire colors - think I've seen one somewhere, but ???.

    http://www.cj3apage.com/index/Tech_T...20diagrams.htm

    From this diagram, it does not appear that the CJ-3A (in some versions) had a starter switch, just an ignition switch. What you have may be just an ignition switch. The three positions are OFF (center); IGN/ACC (ignition and accessories - like the radio and heater) in the CW position and ACC (accessories only) in the CCW position. In some cases CW and CCW functions may be reversed.

    The ACC position was so that if you were sitting still without the engine running and listening to the radio (or some such foolishness) current was not flowing through the ignition points and that would keep you from burning or welding points.

    As a friend of mine found out in about 1962, if you sit with the ignition switch in the IGN position with the radio on and watch the submarine races with your girlfriend late into the evening, the points get hot and weld closed, the car won't start and people come looking for you about 1:00 AM in the morning.
    Last edited by LarrBeard; 04-19-2024 at 06:34 PM.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator LarrBeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,513
    Here is a link to pictures with colored wires. They are for an MB, but you get an idea of what colors were original.

    Now, a two-cents worth. The wiring on the '48 was a mess. I thought I could do a wiring harness myself, after all I designed aircraft wiring harnesses for a long time. But, the more I looked - the more I realized that once I did build my own harness, I would have what looked like a home made mess - not to mention trying to get all of the terminals and connectors I needed.

    Depending on how much cleaning up you really intend to do - don't discount just buying a new harness. It WILL look really nice when you're done and it will be more reliable and you will avoid trying to find the wire you misrouted or left out when you try to fire it up.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2024
    Location
    North Idaho (CDA area)
    Posts
    13
    Thanks everyone. Good point about just buying a harness, I have been thinking about it.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator bmorgil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Northwestern Ohio
    Posts
    3,686
    The CJ3A was a foot starter until its last years. At that time it could have been purchased with either a foot switch or, a remote key switch like we are all familiar with today. You could have either. The wiring in an early Willys is fairly straight forward. Not a lot there! The original wiring was cloth covered and two colors, white and black. The starter switch replacements now all have the "start" position. It is not used in the foot pedal start, its just along for the ride!
    Last edited by bmorgil; 04-20-2024 at 07:01 AM.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2024
    Location
    North Idaho (CDA area)
    Posts
    13
    I have the foot starter. Would like to eventually switch to ignition key start but for now everything works with the foot start so no need to make more work for myself.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator gmwillys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    3,684
    Aften cases a battery power disconnect switch is used as a two position keyed switch. Our Heep has one from a Hyster forklift, and has for at least 40 years. You can get them pretty cheap on Amazon or eBay.

  8. #18
    Senior Member 56willys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    Northwestern PA.
    Posts
    291
    If you're rewiring will you switch to 12 volt? These jeeps are super easy to rewire, I had mine running with less then 3 wires. But it's amazing the kind of stuff some people will do to a wiring harness, splicing in stuff trying to fix it, but just making it worse for the next guy... some times it's easier to just start over.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    6
    Had a similar wiring nightmare with our 1948 CJ2a, various colored wires patched together with electric tape and different type connectors. We were amazed that it even ran, but now have a new wiring harness that will be installed as part of the restoration and 12 volt switch over.

  10. #20
    Super Moderator bmorgil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Northwestern Ohio
    Posts
    3,686
    I think a lot of "Bubba's" have a common "plumbing approach" to the electrical system. There's a wire... I'll just tap in there with this piece of wire I cut out over here... and hook up this new winch, and all the lights I can find.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •